Gravel Baby!

The Dairy Roubaix has come and gone.  I remember in the photo I was trying to look wasted and pathetic, but don’t know if that really worked.

??????????????????

our resident gnome, getting buried by snow in April

Our resident gnome, getting buried by snow in April

The Dairy Roubaix was 54 miles, or 100 and something miles on mostly gravel roads in hilly western Wisconsin.  I had a great time.  This was my second gravel event.  I did my best to train, but the unrelenting snow and winter made it tough to get any significant miles in.

 

 

Here are a couple more photos.     049047

 

 

 

 

 

There I am, roaring into the finish!  So fast, I passed a Pugsley.

How was it?  It was tough.  I did an extra 10 miles, 64 total, because I lost my cue sheet.  And then, I tried to follow some other guys in, who turned out to be lost, but didn’t know it.  I was really mad at those guys!

 

It snowed like mad the day before we left, but there was almost no snow anywhere, 200 miles to the south.  The sun broke through, and it turned into a pretty nice day.

I’m really liking this gravel thing, and I plan on doing more of these.  The Dirty Benjamin is up next, unless I find something else sooner.  I’ll be adding some more about the bike I rode later.

2 thoughts on “Gravel Baby!

  1. That is a Mukluk not a Pugsley. I am the guy riding it.

    Will you be passing me this Sat as well? I will be on a green Vaya this time. Looking at the progression the following year will have to be road bike I guess.

    • Hi Garrett,

      Sorry, at the time Pugsley was the only fat bike I had known the name of. It is a little better now.

      Will I be passing you? I don’t know. It took me until almost the finish line last year, and this year on a Vaya? I might not have a chance. And if you bring your road bike next year, I might as well not show up.

      Seriously thanks for the comment. Hoping for pleasant weather this Saturday. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

